What are the SAG-SEED Awards?

The SEED Awards for Entrepreneurship in Sustainable Development is an annual awards scheme designed to find the most promising, innovative and locally led start-up eco-inclusive enterprises in countries with developing and emerging economies.

For the 2017 SAG-SEED Awards, the call for application is open to enterprises within the six focus countries: Burkina Faso, Ghana, Kenya, Mauritius, South Africa and  Uganda.

An independent international jury of expert will select enterprises that have the potential to make real improvements in poverty eradication and environmental sustainability while contributing to a greener economy.

Enterprises in the following four sectors can apply:

  • Agriculture
  • Manufacturing
  • Tourism
  • Waste Management

What are the criteria?

  • Demonstrate entrepreneurship and innovation
  • Deliver economic, social and environmental benefits
  • Intention and potential to become financial sustainable
  • Be a partnership between different stakeholder groups
  • Be locally driven or locally led
  • Have potential to scale up or significant replication
  • Be in the early stage of implementation
  • Meet country specific requirements

More detailed information on the eligibility here.

Prize for Award Winner

SEED offers each SAG-SEED Award Winner a customised support package consisting of tools, capacity building, profiling and network building, all tailored to their individual needs.

About SEED

SEED was founded at the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg by UNEP, UNDP and IUCN. SEED is based on the understanding that the promotion of social and environmental entrepreneurship is pivotal for sustainable development and poverty reduction.

SEED – Multiple Areas of Interventions


Application deadline: 08.03.2017 23:59 Central African Time (CAT| FAQ | Website